Oles edged by three points at MIAC Championships, Straehley is diver of the year

Mike Ludwig
February 18, 2012

MINNEAPOLIS - The St. Olaf men's swimming and diving team had four individual wins on Saturday's final day of the MIAC Championships to finish second at the event, just three points off (765-762) the winning pace.

St. Olaf diver Ian Straehley was named the Diver of the Meet after he won the 3-meter event on his final dive - in the final individual event of the night - to keep the Oles in the hunt for a team title. UST then held off St. Olaf in the 400 Free Relay to claim the 40 points in the event, to the Oles' 34, to get the team title.

St. Olaf head coaches Bob and Dave Hauck were named the MIAC's swimming coaches of the year, as they were on the women's side as well.

St. Olaf first year Michael Gratz finished his remarkable championships with a win in the 100 Free in 45.15, which is a NCAA B cut and selection time.

Ole sophomore Spencer Scarth won the 1650 Free in a NCAA B cut time of 16:00.28 to lead five Oles in the top six in the event. Chase Liaboe was second, Swan Westby third, Eric Carlson fourth and Mike Neufeld sixth.

The Oles' Evan Griffith was second in the 200 Back, with teammate Joel Money close behind in fifth.

Liaboe finished second in the 200 Fly.

Contact media relations specialist Mike Ludwig at (507) 786-3834 or