Men's cross country wins MIAC Championship

Mike Ludwig
October 27, 2012

ST. PAUL, Minn. - Grant Wintheiser won the individual title as the St. Olaf men's cross country team won the MIAC Championship on Saturday, the fourth in school history, as the Oles held off St. Thomas and Bethel at Como Park.

Wintheiser finished in 25:08.1, over 20 seconds ahead of second place runner Michaele Tesema from Augsburg. St. Olaf held a 43-point advantage over second place St. Thomas and a 47-point lead over third place Bethel.

The Oles had five runners in the top 20, led by Wintheiser and junior Brian Saksa, who finished eighth (25:50.9). First year Jake Campbell was 12th (26:02.9), senior Tim Lillehaugen 14th (26:10.4) and first year Calvin Lehn 19th (26:21.8). Senior Chris Massey came in at 26:28.5 for a 25th-place finish and Stefan Lemke was 30th in 26.39.2.

Wintheiser is the fifth St. Olaf men's runner to win a MIAC title since 1997, joining Duboul Ruon (2008), Sam Hauck (2005), Kelly Fulton (2004) and T Scott Major (1997).

St. Olaf last won a team title in 2008, head coach Phil Lundin's first season at the helm. The Oles also had titles in 2004 and 1976.

St. Olaf is off next week. The Oles will host the NCAA Division III Central Region Championships on Nov. 10.

Contact media relations specialist Mike Ludwig at (507) 786-3834 or