MIAC Recap / Complete Results

Ole men capture MIAC title as Brebrick sets MIAC record

Thomas Lambert
February 16, 2013

MINNEAPOLIS - The St. Olaf Men's Swimming and Diving team captured the conference title on Saturday with a strong third day at the MIAC Swimming and Diving Championships at the University of Minnesota Aquatics Center.

The Oles, who finished first in five events on day three, held off second place St. Thomas and third place Gustavus to win the 29th MIAC championship in school history. St. Olaf finished with 787 points.

Billy Brebrick won the 200 Butterfly and set a meet and MIAC record with a time of 1:48.94. His time also made the NCAA A cut.

In the 200 Breast, Colby Kubat finished first (2:02.24) for an NCAA A cut, while Erik Money made the NCAA B cut with a time of 2:06.70.

Spencer Scarth took first in the 1650 Free (16:03.30), while Eric Carlson (16:42.20) and Swan Westby (16:49.52) finished third and fourth, respectively.

In the 200 Back, Evan Griffith won with a time of 1:50.00.

The Oles took first in the 400 Free Relay (3:03.02).

Mike Gratz took second in the 100 Free (44.88), while Tanner Roe finished second (45.58).

In the 3 Meter Diving event Scott Hodgson finished third with a score of 398.30.

Contact media relations specialist Mike Ludwig at (507) 786-3834 or ludwigm@stolaf.edu.