Quantitative Literacy DataBase

(Working Draft, 06/30/99)

 

A working draft of a database of individuals with some interest in quantitative literacy (or numeracy, as it is sometimes called). Comments, corrections, and additions are welcome by e-mail toLynn A. Steen. (QL Home Page)

 

Last First M E-Mail Institution Position
           
Adelman Clifford   clifford_adelman@ed.gov U. S. Dept. of Education Nat'l Ctr for Educ. Statistics
Andersen Janet   andersen@math.hope.edu Hope College Mathematics
Angelo Thomas   tangelo@wppost.depaul.edu DePaul University Assessment Center
Arslanian Artin   artin.arslanian@marist.edu Marist College Academic Vice President
Bennett Douglas   doug@acls.org Earlham College President
Bennett Fredricka   fbennett@mcla.mass.edu Mass. College of Liberal Arts  
Bentley Jerry   jbentley@hawaii.edu Univ. of Hawaii History
Berch Daniel   berchd@exchange.nih.gov National Institute of Health  
Bernhardt Robert L. mabernha@ecuvm.cis.ecu.edu East Carolina University  
Bernstein Peter     Peter L Bernstein, Inc. Author (Against the Gods)
Berryman Sue   sberryman@worldbank.org World Bank  
Bishop Wayne   wbishop@calstatela.edu CSU-Los Angeles  
Blank Rolf   rolfb@mail.ccsso.org Cnc'l Chief State Sch. Officers  
Blau Sheridan   sblau@ncte.org Univ. of Calif., Santa Barbara English
Boggs George   gboggs@palomar.edu Palomar Community College President
Bragg Sadie   bmacdscb@cunyvm.cuny.edu Borough of Manhattan CC Dean of Academic Affairs
Briars Diane   briars@pps.pgh.pa.us Pittsburgh Public Schools. Mathematics Coordinator
Bridger Maxine   mbridger@neu.edu Northeastern Unversity Mathematics
Briggs William   wbriggs@math.cudenver.edu Univ. of Colorado, Denver  
Burge James     Nat'l Skills Standards Board  
Bushaw Donald   bushaw@wsu.edu Washington State Univ.  
Bybee Roger   rbybee@nas.edu National Research Council ExDir, CSMEE
Chaffer Mitzi   Mitzi.C.Chaffer@cmich.edu Central Michigan University (Math Competency Survey)
Champagne Audrey   abc39@cnsvax.albany.edu SUNY-Albany Science Education
Chinn William G. 73211.1472@compuserve.com City College of San Francisco Mathematics (Emeritus)
Chkhenkeli Mikhail   mikhail.chkhenkeli@williams.edu Williams College  
Cibes Peg   margaret.cibes@mail.trincoll.edu Trinity College (Hartford)  
Cirasella Jill   jccirasella@amherst.edu Amherst College  
Clapp Michael   mclapp@fullerton.edu CSU-Fullerton Mathematics
Cobb George W. gcobb@mtholyoke.edu Mt. Holyoke College Statistics
Coe Paul   coepaul@email.dom.edu Dominican University (Ill.)  
Cole Paul     Nat'l Skills Standards Board Treasurer, AFL-CIO
Collins Angelo   angelo.collins@vanderbilt.edu Vanderbilt University Science Education
Connally Eric   econnally@wellesley.edu Wellesley College Quantitative Reasoning Ctr
Copa George   copax001@maroon.tc.umn.edu Univ. of Minnesota Work, Comm., & Fam. Educ
Cowan Jack   cowan@zaphod.uchicago.edu Univ. of Chicago Mathematics
Cox David   dac@cs.amherst.edu Amherst College Mathematics
Cozzens Midge   mcozzen@carbon.cudenver.edu Univ. of Colorado, Denver V-Chanc. for Acad. Affairs
Cross Christopher   info@c-b-e.org Council for Basic Education President
Curnutt Larry   lcurnutt@bcc.ctc.edu Bellvue Community College Mathematics
Curtis Philip C. pcc@math.ucla.edu Univ. of Calif., Los Angeles Mathematics (Emeritus)
Dando William   gedando@scifac.indstate.edu Indiana State University Geography
Davis Paul   pwdavis@wpi.edu Worcester Polytech. Inst. Mathematics
Demana Frank   demanaf@math.ohio-state.edu Ohio State University Mathematics (Emeritus)
Denning Peter J. pjd@gmu.edu George Mason University. Assoc. Dean, Comp. Sci
Devlin Keith   devlin@stmarys-ca.edu Saint Mary's College of Calif. Dean of Science
Dickinson Martha   martha@ecology.coa.edu College of the Atlantic Mathematics
Diefenderfer Caren L. cdiefenderfer@hollins.edu Hollins College Mathematics
Donaldson James   jad@scs.howard.edu Howard University Mathematics
Dossey John   jdossey@math.ilstu.edu Illinois State University Mathematics (Emeritus)
Edwards Bruce H. be@math.ufl.edu Univ. of Florida  
Effinger Gove   effinger@scott.skidmore.edu Skidmore College  
Ehrmann Steve   ehrmann@duke.cpb.org Duke University  
Epp Suzanna   sepp@condor.depaul.edu DePaul University  
Falconer Etta Z. efalcone@spelman.edu Spelman College Mathematics
Ferguson David   dferguson@dts.tns.sunysb.edu SUNY at Stony Brook  
Ferrini-Mundy Joan   jferrini@nas.edu Michigan State University Mathematics Education
Fiske Ted   efiske@aol.com   Education Writer
Forman Michele   michele_forman@mail.acsu.k12.vt.us Middlebury (VT) High School Social Studies
Forman Susan L. susan.forman@att.net Bronx Community College Mathematics
Forte Bettye   forte@tenet.edu Fort Worth School District Mathematics
Fuhrman Susan   fuhrman@zodiac.rutgers.edu Rutgers University Educational Research
Gal Iddo   iddo@research.haifa.ac.il Univ. of Haifa Dept. of Human Services
Ganzglass Evelyn   eganzglass@nga.org Nat'l Governors' Association Employment Policy
Gayton Carver   gaytonc@kgv2.bems.boeing.com Boeing Director of Educ. Programs
Gentile Jim   gentile@hope.edu Hope College Dean of Science
Gifford Bernard   bgifford@academic.com Academic Systems  
Gifford Janice   jgifford@mtholyoke.edu Mt. Holyoke College  
Gillman Rick   rgillman@exodus.valpo.edu Valparaiso University  
Goldberg Samuel   samuel.goldberg@oberlin.edu Oberlin Coll. & Sloan Found. Math. &NLA (Emeritus)
Goldman Madge   goldman@linc.cis.upenn.edu Univ. of Pennsylvania  
Goroff Daniel   goroff@math.harvard.edu Harvard University Bok Learning Center
Grabois Neil     Carnegie Foundation VP; (Colgate Pres; Math.)
Greenleaf Fred   fg3@scivis.nyu.edu New York University Mathematics
Greeno Jim   greeno@csli.stanford.edu Stanford University Psychology
Gregory Charlotte   charlotte.gregory@mail.trincoll.edu Trinity College (Hartford)  
Grover Herbert     Univ. of Wisc., Green Bay Commiss. Educ (Retired)
Growney JoAnne   growney@planetx.bloomu.edu Bloomsburg State Mathematics (Emeritus)
Grubb W. Norton   norton_grubb@maillink.berkeley.edu Univ. of California, Berkeley Education
Guidera Aimee   guideraa@nab.com National Alliance of Business Vice President, Educ.
Hallowell Lyle   hallowl@sunynassau.edu Nassau Community College  
Harvey John G. harvey@math.wisc.edu Univ. of Wisc., Madison Mathematics Education
Hauk Sandy   hauk@chapman.edu Chapman College  
Haver William   wehaver@vcu.edu Virginia Commonw. Univ. Mathematics
Hill Rebecca E. rehsma@rit.edu Rochester Inst. of Technology Mathematics
Hirst Holly   hph@math.appstate.edu Appalachian State University  
Hoachlander Gary   ghoachlander@mprinc.com MPR Associates President
Hoefer Edwin T. ethsma@rit.edu Rochester Inst. of Technology  
Hu-DeHart Evelyn   hudehart@spot.colorado.edu Univ. of Colorado, Boulder Ethnic Studies
Hughes Hallet Deborah   dhh@math.harvard.edu Harvard University Mathematics
Hull Daniel   hull@cord.org Ctr for Occup. R&D (CORD) President & CEO
Hutchings Pat   path@uwyo.edu Carnegie Found. Adv. of Teach.  
Jabon David   djabon@condor.depaul.edu DePaul University  
Jacobs Judith   jejacobs@csupomona.edu CSU-Pomona Mathematics Education
Jacobsen Ed   jacobsen@mail.wiscnet.net UNESCO (Retired) Mathematics Education
Jesudason Raj   rjesudason@wellesley.edu Wellesley College  
Johnson Jerry   jerryj@unr.edu Univ. of Nevada-Reno Mathematics
Jolly Eric   ejolly@edc.org Educ. Dev. Center (EDC) Psychology
Jur Barbara A. jur@macomb.cc.mi.us Macomb County Comm. College  
Kahle Jane Butler   kahle_j@msmail.muohio.edu National Science Foundation Director, Elem & Sec Educ.
Kahn Michael   kahn@stolaf.edu St. Olaf College Statistics
Katz Stanley N. snkatz@pucc.princeton.edu Princeton University Public and Int'lAffairs
Keith Sandra   keith@tigger.stcloud.msus.edu St. Cloud State University Mathematics
Kime Linda   linda.kime@umb.edu Univ. of Mass., Boston  
Klespis Mark   mth_mlk@shsu.edu Sam Houston State Univ.  
Kletzing Dennis   kletzing@totcon.com Stetson University  
Kolata Gina   gkolata@aol.com New York Times Science Writer
Kurtz Stuart   stuart@cs.uchicago.edu Univ. of Chicago Computer Science
Lang Helen   helen.lang@mail.trincoll.edu Trinity College (Hartford)  
Lappan Glenda   glappan@math.msu.edu Michigan State University President, NCTM
LaVie Jackie   jlavie@bowdoin.edu Bowdoin College  
Lehrer Leonard   ll2@nyu.edu New York University Art
Leinwand Steven   stevelmath@aol.com Connecticut Dept. of Education  
LeMahieu Paul   paul.lemahieu@mvs.udel.edu Hawaii Education Depart. Commissioner
Lenker Susan   Susan.S.Lenker@cmich.edu Central Michigan University  
Leonelli Esther   edl@world.std.com Adult Numeracy Network. Administrator
Lichtman Frances B.   Alma College (Math Competency Survey)
Linder-Scholer William   bill.linder-scholer@state.mn.us SciMath-MN Executive Director
Linn Robert   linn_r@cubldr.colorado.edu Univ. of Colorado, Boulder Educational Research
Lochhead Jack   JackLochhead@mindspring.com DeLiberate Thinking, Physics Education
Lutts Jack   lutts@cs.umb.edu Univ. of Mass., Boston  
Magisos Melanie   mmagisos@aol.com Ctr for Image Proc. in Educ. Executive Director
Malcom Shirley   smalcom@aaas.org Amer.Assoc Adv. Sci. (AAAS) Educ. and Human Resources
Marchese Ted   tmarches@capcon.net Amer. Assoc. of Higher Educ. Vice President
Martinez Tony   tqm@tenet.edu Leander High School Mathematics Dept Chair
Mathews Pam     Montgomery Comm. College Instructional Dean
McGivney Kate   mcgivney@math.arizona.edu Univ. of Arizona  
Meeks Veronica     Fort Worth School District Mathematics Teacher
Miles Thomas   Thomas.J.Miles@cmich.edu Central Michigan University (Math Competency Survey)
Millman Richard   rmillman@knox.edu Knox College President, Mathematics
Moore David   dsm@stat.purdue.edu Purdue University Statistics
Moran Judith   judith.moran@mail.trincoll.edu Trinity College (Hartford)  
Morgan Frank   frank.morgan@williams.edu Williams College Mathematics
Moss Jean   jcmoss@amherst.edu Amherst College  
Mudderman Denis   gedenis@scifac.indstate.edu Indiana State University Geography
Nahemow Martin   martin@lrdc.pitt.edu Univ. of Pittsburgh Learning Res. & Dev. Ctr
Narasimhan Carolyn   cnarasim@condor.depaul.edu DePaul University  
Neff Mary M. mf@mathcs.emory.edu Emory University  
Newman Frank   fnewman@ecs.org Educ. Comm. of States (ECS) President Emeritus
Northcutt Robert   rn02@swt.edu Southwest Texas State Univ.  
O'Hara Kathy     Univ. of Iowa  
O'Neill Mary B. moneill@hamilton.edu Hamilton College  
Packer Arnold   packer@jhunix.hcf.jhu.edu Johns Hopkins University. Institute for Policy Studies
Parnell Dale   parnelld@ccmail.orst.edu Oregon State University Western Ctr for C.C. Educ.
Paulos John Allen   paulos@math.temple.edu Temple University  
Paulson Pamela   pam.paulson@mcae.k12.mn.us Minn. Ctr. For Arts Education Arts Education
Payne Deborah   deborah.l.payne@williams.edu Williams College  
Pedrotti Leno   pedrotti@cord.org Ctr for Occup. R&D (CORD) Chief Scientist (Emeritus)
Peterson Ivars   ip@scisvc.org Science News  
Phillips June   jphillips@weber.edu Weber State University Dean, Arts & Hum.
Pierce David   dpierce@aacc.nche.edu Amer. Assoc. of Comm. Coll. President
Pike Carol   pike@gcc.mass.edu Greenfield Comm. College  
Pollak Henry O. 6182700@mcimail.com Teachers Coll., Columbia Mathematics
Porter Theodore M. tporter@history.ucla.edu Univ. of Calif., Los Angeles History
Powell Arthur   apowell@andromeda.rutgers.edu Rutgers University Acad. Foundation Dept
Price Glenda D. gprice@spelman.edu Spelman College Provost
Prichett Gordon   gprichett@aol.com Babson Institute Mathematics
Raizen Senta   raizen@ncise.org Nat'l Ctr for Imp'v Sci. Educ. Science Education
Ray Janet   janray@sccd.ctc.edu Seattle Central Comm. Coll. Mathemataics
Renner Ernest     Best Mfg Pract. Ctr of Excel. Director
Rhoades Sandy   srhoades@keene.edu    
Rodi Stephen   srodi@austin.cc.tx.us Austin Community College Dean of Math.and Science
Romberg Tom   romberg@macc.wisc.edu Univ. of Wisc., Madison Mathematics Education
Ross Ken   ross@math.uoregon.edu Univ. of Oregon Mathematics
Rossman Alan   rossman@dickinson.edu Dickinson College Mathematics
Roznowski Jim   jaroznow@alpha.delta.edu Delta State Univ. (Miss.) Computer Science
Rubillo James   rubilloj@bucks.edu Bucks Community College Mathematics Education
Rutherford James F.   jruther@aaas.org Amer.Assoc Adv. Sci. (AAAS) Project 2061 (Retired)
Schiller Barry   bschiller@ric.edu Rhode Island College  
Schmidt William   wschmidt@msu.edu Michigan State University  
Schoenfeld Alan   alans@socrates.berkeley.edu Univ. of California, Berkeley Mathematics and Education
Schwartz Bob   rschwart@mtholyoke.edu Mt. Holyoke College  
Schwartz Robert   bschwartz@achieve.org ACHIEVE President
Seymour Elaine   seymour@spot.colorado.edu Univ. of Colorado, Boulder  
Shroll C.J.   cjshroll@aol.com Nat'l Coalition of Adv. Manuf.  
Shulman Bonnie   bshulman@abacus.bates.edu Bates College  
Shultz Harris   hshultz@fullerton.edu CSU-Fullerton histed@galton.uchicago.edu
Skinner Peggy O'Neill   peggy.skinner@helen.bush.edu The Bush School, Seattle Science Teacher
Slavin Robert   rslavin@inet.ed.gov Johns Hopkins University.  
Smith James   smithjr@appstate.edu Appalachian State University  
Smith Mary Jane   mjsmithpi@value.net    
Snell J. Laurie   jlsnell@dartmouth.edu Dartmouth College  
Solomon James L. jsolomon@gsvms2.cc.gasou.edu Georgia Southern University. Vice President and Dean
Solow Anita   asolow@rmwc.edu Randolph-Macon Wom. Coll. VP for Academic Affairs
Sommerville Jan   jsomerville@edtrust.org Nat'l Assoc. of System Heads  
Sons Linda R. sons@math.niu.edu Northern Illinois University  
Souders John   jsouders@cord.org Ctr for Occup. R&D (CORD)  
Spooner William   bspooner@dpi.state.nc.us N. Carolina Dpt of Pub. Instr.  
Stage Elizabeth   estage@connectinc.com Univ. of California New Standards
Stevens John     Texas Bus. & Educ. Coal. Executive Director
Stith James   jstith@aip.org American Institute of Physics Director of Physics Progs.
Swanson Todd   swansont@hope.edu Hope College  
Teeguarden Janet   jteeguarden@depauw.edu DePauw University QL Center
Thisted Ronald A. thisted@galton.uchicago.edu Univ. of Chicago Statistics & Health Studies
Thorpe John   jthorpe@nctm.org Nat'l C'l Teach. Math. (NCTM) Executive Director
Trafton Paul   trafton@math.uni.edu Univ. of Northern Iowa  
Travers Ken   k-travers@uiuc.edu Univ. of Illinois, Urbana Mathematics Education
Tucker Marc   mtucker@ncee.org Nat'l Ctr for Educ. & Econ. New Standards Project
Tufte Edward R. edward.tufte@yale.edu Yale University  
Turner Danny   turnerd@winthrop.edu Winthrop University  
Turner Gregg   gturner@clarku.edu Clark University  
Turner Stephen   turner@babson.edu Babson Institute  
Usiskin Zalman   z-usiskin@uchicago.edu Univ. of Chicago Mathematics Education
Vance Irvin   21144iev@msu.edu Michigan State University Mathematics Education
VanSteenhouse Vickie   vkvanste@alpha.delta.edu Delta State Univ. (Miss.)  
Vickers Margaret   m.vickers@uws.edu.au Univ. of Western Sydney Dean
Wadsworth Deborah   paresearch@aol.com Public Agenda Executive Vice President
Waldman Lynn   lwaldman@mail.colgate.edu Colgate University Academic Support
Wallace Dorothy   dorothy.wallace@dartmouth.edu Dartmouth College  
Wangler Thomas   twangler@ben.edu Benedictine University (Ill.)  
Watanabe Ted   tad@midget.towson.edu Towson State. Mathematics Education
Watkins Ann   ann.watkins@csun.edu CSU-Northridge MAA President-Elect
Weiss Iris   iris@horizon-research.com Horizon Research President
West Edie     Nat'l Skills Standards Board Executive Director
Wilson Suzanne   swilson@pilot.msu.edu Michigan State University Education
Wise Norton   nortonw@princeton.edu Princeton University History
Wolfe Fancher   fwolfe@msus1.msus.edu Metropolitan State University  
Wood Susan   swood@jsr.cc.va.us J. Sargeant Reynolds C. C. AMATYC Pres.-Elect
Zdravkovich Vera   vz1@email.pg.cc.md.us Prince Georges Comm. Coll. Dean of Sciences

QL Home Page
Last Update: 29 June 1999
Contact: Lynn Steen
URL: http://www.stolaf.edu/other/ql/dbase.html
Copyright © 1999.