Marci Sortor was appointed provost and dean of the college and professor of history in 2011, overseeing the college’s academic programs and supporting the work of its faculty and academic staff. Her portfolio includes St. Olaf’s academic departments and the Center for Advising and Academic Support; the Center for Innovation in the Liberal Arts; Flaten Art Museum; Government, Foundation, and Corporate Relations; Information Technology; International and Off-Campus Studies; the Libraries; the Natural Lands; the Registrar’s Office; and the college’s TRIO programs.

A scholar of medieval history and economics, Marci previously served at Grinnell College as professor of history and in varying leadership roles, including associate dean of the college, vice president for institutional planning, and interim vice president for college and alumni relations.

At St. Olaf, Marci has overseen the expansion of high-impact learning practices, the development and launch of a new general education curriculum, the augmentation of the Center for Advising and Academic Support, and increased use of Flaten Art Museum, Archives and Special Collections, and the Natural Lands to enrich teaching and learning. Under her leadership, the college has secured millions of dollars in grant funding for academic programs and services, including the Mellon-funded Digital Humanities on the Hill and To Include is To Excel initiatives, enhancing innovation, equity, and inclusion in teaching and learning throughout the St. Olaf curriculum. As the inaugural chair of the St. Olaf Council on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Marci spearheaded the development of the college’s 2019 Equity and Inclusion plan. She currently serves as chair of the board of directors of the American Council of Academic Deans, a member of the governing board of the Norwegian American Historical Association, and a peer reviewer and Institutional Actions Council member of the Higher Learning Commission.

Marci completed a B.A., an M.A., and a Ph.D. in history at the University of California–San Diego.