Spring 2019 Office Hours: Monday 2-3 pm, Wednesday 12-1 pm, and by appointment

Areas of specialization include metaphysics and the philosophy of David Hume. Professor Swain has published in Philosophical StudiesNous, and Hume Studies. Currently president of the Hume Society, she was Executive Secretary-Treasurer for the Hume Society from 2003-2008 and co-editor of Hume Studies, with Saul Traiger, from 2010 to 2015. She has served as the Philosophy Department chair and the Associate Dean for the Humanities at St. Olaf.

Professor Swain's c.v. can be found here.